top of page

Why you should live on your own.

Wow, it's been a long time since I've been able to sit down and write. Just under 2 months.


Life kind of hit the throttle at full speed since February, and it was hard to find some time to do this. But that IS life, right?


We went on a vacation a couple months ago, then work picked up with a busy time of year, we started looking for houses, and I moved.


And that's what I want to touch on today. I moved out of the apartment I had been in for almost 3 years and the entire time I lived alone, other than the dog.


I have moved in with my boyfriend and he's now the first roommate I've had since college, unless you count my parents and my brother when I moved home for a year after I first graduated from college.


As I packed up my stuff and started moving things slowly from my place to his, I started to reflect.


But it hit me the most when I was waiting for the final walk-through with my landlord and the entire place was empty. I kept thinking how thankful I was to have this time living on my own, even though I was so scared when I first moved and there were plenty of hard times.




I took my job in Cadillac back in 2018. At that time, I found a place with a roommate out of town and made that work for the first few months.


But then I wanted to be closer to work and have a place of my own and I finally found it in my apartment. It was homey, small, a little secluded, and right down the road from work.


I had a lot of the stuff I needed from living in an apartment during college, so furnishing it wasn't the hardest thing, but it took all three years I was there to fully make it my own.


I remember when I moved in, I was caught up in the excitment of having a place all to my own. I could play music, cook, be loud, move around, whenever I wanted and didn't have to really worry about other people.


I had an end unit and my neighbor was rarely home, which worked out well for me.


But don't get me wrong, it wasn't all fun and positive things.


It got hard real fast.


It was expensive, it got lonely, and I got overwhelmed many times.


But I would say it was 100% worth it.


I would tell anyone who has the means and ability, you should spend at least a year living on your own.


I learned a lot about myself in the time I was on my own. I had to be the problem solver with issues around the apartment. I spent most of my time by myself, which had never really been the case for me. I used to hate it, but I learned to very much enjoy it. I learned to cook and clean better since I did it all myself, I got more efficient with grocery shopping and conserving my utilities. I learned how to budget and live within my means.


I can't tell you the amount of responsibility I learned in that time. Paying bills, saving money, staying on top of my finances, health, etc.


I flatout just grew up there and became independent.


I became a full-fledged adult. I went through breakups and heartbreak, had countless breakdowns and celebrations, had heart-to-hearts with friends and learned how to love myself. The first time Dylan and I hung out was at my apartment. I developed skills in every part of my life.


I found myself and became who I was meant to be there.


If I didn't have this experience, I'm not sure I would be where I am today without it.


However, like all experiences, they must come to an end. I'm closing the door on that era of my life and moving forward.


When I sat in the empty apartment a few weeks ago, I couldn't help but shed a tear in happiness and sadness. I was hit with all the memories and changes I had gone through while being there. I realized how special of a time it was and I know it will be one I look back on often.


Again, I'm the most thankful for the experience. Enough to tell people to have a similar one. It's worth it and you'll be happy you did.


But for now, it's on to the next chapter, which I even more scared, anxious, excited and ready for.

Comments


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Me
  • Grey LinkedIn Icon
  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey Twitter Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon
bottom of page