top of page

My current favorite: Podcasts

I feel like everyone has their 'usuals', whether it's food or drink orders, gym routines, hobbies, etc.


So I thought it would be fun to touch on some of my 'usuals', or my favorite things at the moment. This will be something I hope to highlight every other week or so, just with a different topic.


I'm a huge fan of podcasts. Between the amount I drive and wanting to have something to listen to while I work or am at home, they are perfect.


I have a few that I listen to every week/day that differ in topics, length, genres. I think they're a great source of entertainment and information.


So here are my favorites in no particular order:


- My Favorite Murder with Karen Kilgariff and Georgia Hardstark

This is probably the podcast I've listend to the longest. MFM is a true crime/comedy podcast. It's a weird mix, but it works so well. Karen and Georgia have helped me through so much over the last four years I've listened and have been my co-pilots on so many of my long road trips for work. Both ladies pick a murder/true crime story and retell it in their own words. They also do mini episodes on Mondays with 'hometown murders' from listeners. I have been the biggest true-crime junkie since I was little and this fit my taste 1000%.


Episodes come out on Mondays and Thursdays.


- That's Messed Up: An SVU Podcast

I have been waiting eternity for this one! That's Messed Up came out only a few months ago, but after the first episode I was hooked. This one is part of the Exactly Right Network which was started by My Favorite Murder. Liza Trayger and Kara Klenk rewatch and break down Law and Order: SVU episodes that are 'ripped from the headlines' (or based on a true story). First, they go over the episode, then they go over the real-life crime, interview an actor/actress from the episode and then end the show with WWSPD (What Would Sister Peg Do) where they talk about things to do that relate to the crime. I have been watching SVU for as long as I can remember. It's where my love of true crime started. So a podcast that talks about the show and brings comedy into it, was practically made for me.


Episodes come out on Tuesdays.


- Small Town Murder

Let's continue with our true crime/comedy podcasts. A coworker told me about this one and I haven't looked back since. Jimmie Whisman and James Pietragallo hosts this podcast, along another one called Crime in Sports. STM is all about crazy things that happen in tiny towns. They talk about the town, with reviews, demographics, real estate, etc., then talk about a murder, which is always the most insane stories that are interesting and hilarious at the same time. For CS, they talk about athletes who fell from grace and turned into criminals. Both are amazing, but I listen to Small Town Murder more. The episodes are a little longer than most, usually around 2.5 hours.


Crime in Sports is on Tuesdays, Small Town Murder is on Thursdays.


- Office Ladies

Time to switch gears. I'm a huge fan of NBC's The Office! I have watched the show over 20x all the way through. No joke. I was so disappointed when it got taken off of Netflix. Nonetheless, this podcast is a great behind-the-scenes of the show. Jenna Fischer and Angela Kinsey, who were Pam and Angela on the show, break down every episode and share stories from the set and give background information. I've learned so much from this and notice new things whenever I get to watch now! Plus, they have interviews from other cast members and answer questions from fans!


Episodes come out on Wednesdays.


- Optimal Living Daily

This is the one I discovered most recently! I decided I wanted to listen to more daily/motivatioinal things to start off my day and I found this one. They are only about 10 minutes long. Justin Malik is the host and he reads from excerpts from blogs and books that are meant to help you in your daily life. These are perfect little bite-size episodes that are quick and easy to listen to. It's a simple thing to add into my everday routine, especially since they come out every day. So far, I have found the topics to be insightful, motivational, and informational.


Episodes come out every day.


- Brunch with Desb

Des is one of the first influencers I followed on Instagram, and she's one I have continued to follow. She has great workouts, health information, and she's honest, upfront, and 100% genuine. When she started her podcast, I knew I had to listen. Her episode topics vary from episode-to-episode, but they're all great and full of lots of advice, tips, and just about everything else. It's been cool to see her transition from mostly fitness into motherhood and everything in between.


Episodes come out every Sunday.


- That's What She Said With Sarah Spain

Sarah Spain has become one of my favorite personalities on ESPN. Her podcast drew my attention with the interviews she does with other industry members, but that she also talks to people not in the sports and/or broadcasting world. She talks to her guests about their life, experiences, and asks for advice from them in their niche area. I personally love the episodes with other women in sports and hearing their stories and how they made it to where they are now. She ends the podcast with the 'Spanish Inquistion' and asks every guest the same group of questions to get to know them on a deeper level. If you are in the broadcasting world, I would highly recommend this one.


Episodes come out every Tuesday.



As you can see, I have a wide variety of things I listen to and enough to fill the whole week, every week. BUT! I'm always open to new suggestions, so if you have any, I'm all ears! And if you listen to any of my recommendations, shoot me a message and tell me what you think! :)

Comments


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Me
  • Grey LinkedIn Icon
  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey Twitter Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon
bottom of page